Select Page
Gallery Goes . . . Yeats International Summer SchoolThe Gallery Press presents Gallery Goes . . . Yeats International Summer School

Vona Groarke, Sean Lysaght and John McAuliffe come together for at this year’s Yeats International Summer School for a poetry reading on 2 August 2023.


Wednesday 2 August
The Methodist Church, Wine Street, Sligo F91 HY48
Adm: €15.00


Vona Groarke was born in the Irish Midlands and attended Trinity College, Dublin and University College, Cork. She has lived in Dublin, Cork and Dundalk and has been writer-in-residence at universities in Galway and Maynooth and was co-holder of the Heimbold Chair in Irish Studies at Villanova University (2004). A member of Aosdána she was selected as a Cullman Center Fellow at the New York Public Library 2018/19 and teaches in the Centre for New Writing at the University of Manchester. Vona Groarke is St John’s College, University of Cambridge, Writer in Residence for the 2022-2023 academic year. Her collections published by The Gallery Press include Spindrift (2009), X (2014), both Poetry Book Society Recommendations, Selected Poems (2016) and Double Negative (2019, shortlisted for the 2020 Irish Times Poetry Now Award). Her latest book, Woman of Winter, a version of the ‘Lament for the Hag of Beare’ with illustrations by Isabel Nolan is due for publication on 7 September 2023.


Seán Lysaght was born and grew up in Limerick. He was educated at UCD where he received a BA and an MA in Anglo-Irish Literature. He subsequently spent several years abroad, in Switzerland and Germany, before teaching for some time at St Patrick’s College, Maynooth. He lectured at the Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology until 2015. He lives with his wife Jessica in Westport, County Mayo. The Gallery Press has published six poetry collections — The Clare Island Survey (1991), Scarecrow(1998), Erris (2002), The Mouth of a River (2007), Venetian Epigrams (2008, translations after Goethe) Selected Poems (2010)and Carnival Masks (2014). His collection, New Leaf, was published in 2022.

John McAuliffe was born and grew up in Listowel, County Kerry.  He studied English Literature in Galway, before moving, in 2002, to the UK where he still lives.He has published six collections with The Gallery Press. His first, A Better Life (2002), was shortlisted for a Forward Prize. His second collection Next Door was published in 2007, Of All Places (a Poetry Book Society Recommendation) in 2011 and The Way In (2015). His fifth collection, The Kabul Olympics, was published in April 2020 and was an Observer Poetry Book of the Month. John McAuliffe’s Selected Poems was published in October 2021.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from The Gallery Press team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop