Select Page

Pearse Hutchinson (1927-2012)

Pearse Hutchinson’s poems have long been recognized as unique, for their lively, learned, humane framing of experience, and for their urgent and communicative language. They are redolent of his personality: of a life lived wide awake and in many places, of a mind adventurous and well equipped that engaged, above all, with the truth of things as they happen.

— Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin

Search the Shop

Pearse HutchinsonPearse Hutchinson was born in Glasgow in 1927 of Irish parents and moved to Dublin in 1932. He published two collections of poems in Irish, Faoistin Bhacach and Le Cead na Gréine. Dolmen Press published his first two collections in English, Tongue without Hands and Expansions (1969).

For thirty years The Gallery Press has been publishing his work  Watching the Morning Grow (1972), The Frost is All Over (1975), Selected Poems (1980), Climbing the Light (1985), The Soul That Kissed the Body (Selected Poems in Irish with translations into English, 1990), Barnsley Main Seam (1995), Collected Poems (2002), Done Into English (Collected Translations, 2003), At Least for a While (2008, shortlisted for the Irish Times Poetry Now Award) and Listening to Bach, a posthumous collection published in 2014.

Pearse Hutchinson was co-founder and co-editor of Cyphers and a member of Aosdána. He died in Dublin in 2012.

Listening to Bach

Pearse Hutchinson’s final collection places a whole era in an alternative frame, an insistently personal narrative. He looks back over a long and unconventional career to celebrate his discoveries

€11.95 pb
€18.50 hb

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop