Select Page

Alvy Carragher

Search the Shop

Alvy Carragher - Photo by Lucy CarragherAlvy Carragher grew up by the River Shannon in Galway and Tipperary and has since lived in Louisiana, Dublin, South Korea, and Canada. She is currently based in Dublin. Her previous collections, Falling in love with broken things (2016) and The men I keep under my bed (2021), were published by Salmon Poetry. She has also published a children’s novel, The Cantankerous Molly Darling (2019). She is a recipient of an Arts Council Literary Bursary and has an MA in Writing from the University of Galway.


What Remains the Same

The past stamps its foot
like a small child.
— ‘Forgive Me’

In Alvy Carragher’s compelling new collection journeys are strivings to escape. Rooms hold ‘the shadow / of an old home, another country’ while, in the book’s title poem, a young woman ‘must swallow pain, remain silent. / This is the shape of her life.’ History hounds the writer’s heels and ancient hurts return as she searches for a voice and for forgiveness.

These poems contain a gamut of emotions — from the kindness of a stranger on an aeroplane to ‘Aftermath’ in which a character ‘wanted to hurt him’. In work that tells ‘the whole house deaf / to what it was that went on / in the rooms of its daughters’ What Remains the Same is a distressing book. But through the illumination of dark passages in her own and in our country’s woes Alvy Carragher, in poems touched by something like love, presents a tale of survival and a guiding light.

€12.95 pb
€19.50 hb

What Remains the Same Cover


YouTube video
YouTube video
YouTube video
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop