Select Page

Seamus Heaney 1939-2013

Seamus Heaney won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1995 ‘for works of lyrical beauty and ethical depth, which exalt everyday miracles and the living past’.

Search the Shop

Seamus HeaneySeamus Heaney was born in County Derry, Northern Ireland, in 1939 and died in Dublin in 2013 by which time he was the most admired and loved poet in the world.

His books include twelve collections – from Death of a Naturalist (1966) to Human Chain (2010) and an acclaimed translation of Beowulf (1999).

His Gallery publications include The Midnight Verdict (translations from the Irish of Brian Merriman and from the Metamorphoses of Ovid, 1993), Crediting Poetry (The Nobel Lecture, 1995), Laments by Jan Kochanowski (translated by Seamus Heaney and Stanislaw Baranczak, 2009), The Last Walk (translations from the Italian of Giovanni Pascoli with paintings and drawings by Martin Gale, 2013 (out of print)) and a personal essay in honour of Brian Friel, Spelling It Out (2009).

Seamus Heaney Titles

Spelling It Out

… I thought it worth the risk to spell out some of the things we know and love and value about Brian by focussing on the letters of his name…

Seamus Heaney’s Spelling It Out is a personal essay in honour of our greatest living playwright, Brian Friel, on his 80th birthday. It includes tender recollection and high critical observation.

€15.00 pb
(published in sewn wrappers)

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop