Select Page

Farmgate Café National Poetry AwardMunster Literature’s Farmgate Café National Poetry Award shortlist has been announced and no less than three Gallery authors and their collections appear: Kevin Graham’s The Lookout Post, Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin’sThe Map of the World and Peter Sirr’s The Swerve.

Congratulations to all six shortlisted poets:
Jane Clarke, A Change in the Air
Kevin Graham, The Lookout Post
Paula Meehan, The Solace of Artemis
Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin, The Map of the World
Peter Sirr, The Swerve
Breda Spaight, Watching for the Hawk
Limited places are available for a reception at the Farmgate Café National Poetry Award where the winning poet will receive their prize and present a short reading on 14 May.
The Lookout Post, Kevin Graham’s first collection, is a book of uncommon poise and range. It includes harrowing accounts of illness, a suicide, and joyous celebrations of fatherhood and family life.
The Map of the World abounds in the tales half-told or hinted at for which Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin’s poetry is widely admired. Her corruscating poems are like no one else’s: ‘a stream is venturing a brisk melody’. So satisfying is the experience of this poet’s art a new collection of poems by her is an occasion for rejoicing.
The Swervehis twelfth collection, is Peter Sirr’s first book of poems since The Gravity Wave (2019), a Poetry Book Society Recommendation and winner of the Farmgate National Poetry Award.  A book as ample as it is confident in its risk taking The Swerve confirms that Peter Sirr is one of our truest, bravest and most adventurous poets.
Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from The Gallery Press team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop