T S Eliot ShortlistCongratulations to Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin who has been shortlisted for the 2023 T. S. Eliot Prize.⁠ 

The winner, to be announced in January, will receive £25,000, while each shortlisted poet will receive £1,500.

“We are confident that all 10 shortlisted titles not only meet the high standards they set themselves but speak most effectively to, and of, their moment,” said Irish poet and judging chair Paul Muldoon, a past winner of the prize. “If there’s a single word for that moment it is surely ‘disrupted’, and all these poets properly reflect that disruption.

“Shot through though they are with images of grief, migration, and conflict, they are nonetheless imbued with energy and joy,” he continued.

Also on the T.S. Eliot Prize shortlist are Joe Carrick-Varty, Jason Allen-Paisant, Jane Clarke, Ishion Hutchinson, Kit Fan, Abigail Parry, Fran Lock, Sharon Olds and Katie Farris.
Read more about the shortlisted authors in The Guardian.

Although The Map of the World abounds in the tales half-told or hinted at for which Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin’s poetry is widely admired this book reaches further into the ways one might confront misfortune and disaster and the whole weight of history. So satisfying is the experience of this poet’s art a new collection of poems by her is an occasion for rejoicing.

#tseliotprize #themapoftheworld#eileannichuilleanain #poetryireland#ArtsCouncilSupported

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from The Gallery Press team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop