Select Page

Oven Lane and Other Poems


Michael Coady

Also available as an ebook



Out of stock

Oven Lane was a Poetry Ireland Choice when it was published first in 1987. This revised and amplified edition includes poems from the award-winning Two for a Woman, Three for a Man. It offers poems arising from the history and community of Michael Coady’s native Carrick-on-Suir and extends to a search for emigrant family links in America.

In Poetry Ireland Review Terence Brown noted the warm, emotional openness of this work ‘in which generous feeling and a respect for individuals and the sacred quality of life itself find engaging expression’.

Oven Lane anticipates the broader canvas of Michael Coady’s widely admired compendia, All Souls, One Another and Going by Water.

. . . lively, cohesive and strong

— Philip Casey

. . . warm, genuinely felt, generous, alert to the joys and sadness of the everyday
— Pat Ramsey, The Irish Review

1987 Poetry Ireland Choice Award

Year Published: 1987. Revised, enlarged edition 2014
Details: 88pp
ISBN PBK: 978 185235 595 1
ISBN ebook: 978 1 91133 706 5

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop