Select Page
Lawrence O'Shaughnessy AwardWe are delighted that this year’s recipient of the 2024 Lawrence O’Shaughnessy Award for Poetry is Gerald Dawe whose Another Time: Poems 1978-2023 we have recently published and whose work has been a mainstay of the Gallery list since 1985. The Award will be presented in St Paul, Minnesota in May 2024.


He joins other poets published by The Gallery Press who have received this accolade, most recently Ailbhe Ní Ghearbhuigh, Peter Sirr, Michael Coady, Kerry Hardie, Seán Lysaght and Tom French.


The Lawrence O’Shaughnessy Award for Poetry, established in 1997, honours Irish poets. The award is named for Lawrence O’Shaughnessy, who taught English at University of St. Thomas from 1948 to 1950, formerly served on the university’s board of trustees and the retired head of the I.A. O’Shaughnessy Foundation.


Another Time: Poems 1978-2023 brings together Gerald Dawe’s new collection of poems with an extended selection from his eight previous books published by The Gallery Press. In lucid and ironic meditations on personal life, love and loss amid the crises of public history, Another Time shares the unmistakable lyrical grace of the poet’s earlier volumes: ‘A supreme and calm assurance, again and again, pitch-perfect in tone and form’ (David Park).


Grant aided by the Arts Councils of Ireland.
Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from The Gallery Press team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop